“They built the things we love about The Bahamas,” Prime Minister Davis said about the National Honourees


By Stirling Strachan

The Most Hon. Sir Cornelius A. Smith, Governor-General and Chancellor of the Societies of Honour hosted the Investiture of National Honours 2021 at the British Colonial Hilton Hotel on Monday, October 11, 2021 observed as National Heroes Day.

His Excellency awarded 16 persons in four of the seven awards categories, which included the Order of the Bahamas, the Order of Distinction, the Order of Merit and the Distinguished Medal award. Receiving awards were Algernon S. P. B. Allen who received the Order of The Bahamas, Mr. Leon Smith; Eugenia Cartwright; Mrs. Mary Johnson and Mr. Rober Sands, the Order of Distinction.

The Order of Merit was received by Mr. Percival Knowles; Mrs. Patricia Meicholas; Dr. Patricia Bazard, Mr. Al Collie; Rev. Copeland Morley; Bishop Mother Vivian Cox; Ms. Celestine Eneas and Mr. Willard Rutherford. Mr. Douglas Hanna; Mrs. Agatha Archer and Captain Patrick Rolle received the Distinguished Service Medal.

More photo highlights below: