Bahamas Development Bank Welcomes New Board of Directors


The Minister of Economic Affairs and Leader of Government Business, Senator The Hon. Min. Michael Halkitis attended the first meeting of The Board of Directors of The Bahamas Development Bank on January 31 st . Garvin Christie, Tischka Bowleg, Khalil Elliott, Kyron Strachan, Alfred Poitier and Bryan Woodside have been nominated to join The Chairman of The Bank, Senator The Hon. Quinton Lightbourne on the BDB Board.

This meeting highlighted the importance that development finance will play in improving economic performance for the country. Chairman Lightbourne has previously reiterated that The Bank will maintain a focus on youth inclusion, gender equity and Orange Economy development as the institution carries out its mandate of economic diversification and expansion. The board selections have been drawn from a balanced mix of professionals from across the nation’s productive sectors which will serve to guide the institution’s lending programs and other activities going forward.

Pictured left to right are Garvin Christie, Tischka Bowleg, Senator The Hon. Min. Michael Halkitis, Chairman Senator The Hon. Quinton Lightbourne, Khalil Elliott, Kyron Strachan and Alfred Poitier. (Not pictured, Bryan Woodside)