Minister of Education and Technical and Vocational Training, the Hon. Glenys Hanna Martin appeared at a press briefing at the Office of the Prime Minister on Thursday where she announced the launch of a national school breakfast pilot program.

Minister Hanna-Martin outlined the test program including the participating schools.  “In New Providence those schools are Columbus Primary, Ridgeland Primary, Sandilands Primary and Albury Sayles Primary.  And in the islands the schools that are going to be testing this program are Rolleville Primary in Exuma, Holmes Rock Primary in Grand Bahama, Cherokee Sound Primary in Abaco and Old Bight Primary in Cat Island.   Now the selection process of schools was carefully designed because the whole purpose is to test the outcomes and the efficacy of this program.  The schools were chosen based on data as to potential student challenges.  They targeted schools that had populations below 600 and where attendance rates were below 89.2% in the primary schools,” she said.

The National School Breakfast Program was foreshadowed by the Prime Minister in the 2023-2024 budget communication.