BCB GM elected President of CBU & BCB wins at Caribbean Media Awards

The Broadcasting Corportation of The Bahamas General Manager Mrs. Kayleaser Deveaux - Isaacs

The General Manager of The Broadcasting Corporation of The Bahamas, Mrs. Kayleaser Deveaux- Isaacs was elected President of the Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU) at its 52nd Annual General Assembly, held August 16-17th, 2021.

The Broadcasting Corporation of The Bahamas is a founding member of the CBU which began in 1970. The CBU is a not-for-profit Association of public service and commercial broadcasters in the Caribbean, reaching over 4.8 million people. The 36 Member stations are drawn from 19 countries of the Caribbean Region. Mrs. Deveaux-Isaacs has been on the Board of Directors of the CBU since June 2017 and was selected Vice President in December, 2020. Her term as President runs from 2021-2023.

In June 2017, Mrs. Deveaux-Isaacs and the BCB team hosted the 48th Annual General Assembly of the CBU which attracted record number of visitors from the Region and Internationally to the event.

Mrs. Deveaux-Isaacs stated “I am very pleased and honored to be chosen by my regional peers to the high office of President of the CBU. This special honor is shared with all of the BCB staff, past and present who represented The Bahamas at this forum and it is for the Bahamian people. I look forward to working with my media colleagues from the around the Caribbean and internationally, as we all continue the fight against this COVID-19 Pandemic. We must continue the push to get accurate information to our people, so that they can make informed choices and decisions to protect against COVID-19, and at all times.”

The Broadcasting Corporation of The Bahamas also won Best Television Documentary for its production on Hurricane Dorian: Category 6 with Meagan Shepard and Gershon Swain. BCB also won Best Radio Health Programme for HIV/AIDS (in association with the Ministry of Health).

Past President, Mr. Gary Allen of the RJRGleaner Communications Group in Jamaica demitted office after serving his term as President and the newly elected Board of Directors of the CBU comprises Mrs. Deveaux-Isaacs, President/BCB – The Bahamas; Ms. Claire Grant, Vice President/TVJ – Jamaica; Mr. Richard Purcell, Director/One Caribbean Media – Trinidad; Mr. Keith Campbell, Director/PBCJ – Jamaica; Mrs. Emiliana Bernard Stephenson, Director/Teleislas – San Andres, Colombia; Mr. Chris Jarrett, Director/ Radio Turks & Caicos; Mr. Anthony Greene, Director/Starcom Network – Barbados, Mrs. Sushilla Jadoonanan, Director/DirecTV Caribbean – Trinidad and Ms. Dionne John, Director/National Broadcasting Corporation – St. Vincent & The Grenadines.