Bahamas Development Bank Orange Economy Grant applicants awarded MacBook Pros


The Bahamas Development Bank (“The Bank” or “BDB”) places great focus on progressing the country’s National Development Plan with a particular focus on the expansion of the colored economies. Most recently, The Bank launched the Orange Economy Micro Technology Grant Program aimed at increasing the creative capacity of Bahamians. Successful applicants were awarded a MacBook Pro to improve the quality of their productions and aid in increasing their productivity.

“After hosting our Conversations with the Orange Economy Series in 2021, The Bank realized that access to equipment is one of the biggest needs within the creative community,” noted Sumayyah Cargill, Unit Head of Strategic Development and Initiatives at The Bank.

“Bahamians are creative, innovative people,” said Senator The Hon. Quinton Lightbourne, BDB Chairman, “and The Bank is committed to investing in the Orange Economy to help develop various sectors and offer opportunities for creative entrepreneurs doing unique work. Through this grant program, we were able to get a glimpse of all of the amazing creative work happening in our country and The Bank is proud to support these works and help them grow both locally and internationally.”

Upon launch of the grant program in January, over 250 applications were received across all areas of the creative community, out of which, 26 of the highest-scoring applicants were selected. As Family Island inclusion is valued at BDB, winning applicants spanned 4 islands: Andros, Exuma, Grand Bahama, and New Providence. Furthermore, gender equity is another area of great importance for BDB, resulting in an even selection of 13 women and 13 men as winners.

The grant awardees are as follows: Alexis Clarke, Ashleigh Rolle, Ashley Whitney, Brandon Kemp, Brittney Ambrister, Christopher Smith, Colette Parker, Denise Poitier, Denzel Lightbourne, Dion Cunningham, Durelle Williams, Farreno Ferguson, Felicia Woodside, Ilka Rodgers, Johnny Gray, Kache Knowles, Kenrick Wells, Kevin Fox, Ky’Shaun Miller, Lisa Davis, Miquelle Swann, Neville Smith, Reagan Kemp, Reuno Smith Pratt, Shanaye Smith, and Travis Miller.

Winners were selected based on specific predetermined criteria including their levels of experience and their ability to express the potential expansion of their innovative projects. The awardees spanned a myriad of sectors in the creative community including visual arts, content creation, graphic design, music, cultural heritage, performing arts and shows, software development, and more.